A Successful Summer Shirt

So I gave Simplicity 1872 another shot. I had tried it once before, but made a size waaaay too small. But you’ll be so proud of me – I made a muslin first this time! And it really did help a lot.

20120803-164535.jpg
So this was what I wanted to make, version A, which is just a blouse. I had been waiting a while to try this pattern again until I had money for new fabric. When I finally went to the fabric store, I had in my mind what I wanted – a very lightweight white cotton. Well, when I see a fabric I like I just can’t help myself, even if it’s not what I initially wanted. So I walked out with this awesome, funky sateen. It’s not actually the right kind of fabric for this pattern, but I was so excited about the fabric I couldn’t resist.

I read a lot of reviews on patternreview.com and they said the sizing is huge on the pattern because it has no closures, it just goes on over your head. So I thought I would make the top part fit my shoulder and bust correctly, then make sure the waist was large enough to go on overhead. My first try I made an 8 and graded it to a14 (at least I think it was a 14. Shoot, now I can’t remember). That one was pretty good, but the shoulders were just a bit tight if I wrapped my arms around the front of me. So I ended up going with a 10 up top graded to a 14(?). I also didn’t do the sleeves that version A calls for – I thought the heavier fabric wouldn’t work well, and sleeveless is great for the summer anyway.

And here’s how it turned out!

20120803-165612.jpg

20120803-165540.jpg

At first I wasn’t too thrilled. The bottom of the blouse is basically a circle skirt, and since the fabric is a bit thicker than it’s supposed to be, it kind of stuck out at weird angles. So I hung it up and thought about how I could fix it, and came back to it the next day. When I tried it on again, I decided I really liked it. I think my initial dislike was just that I’ve never worn anything with a peplum, which is supposed to stick out at your hips like this does. (If you don’t know what a peplum is, just google it and look at the images – its the gathered bit that sticks out at the hips.)

And one of the most exciting things about this project was I learned something new – how to make thread carriers! The pattern called for them at the waist to hold the sash but didn’t bother to explain how to do it. I found this website that had a great explanation. It was super quick to do, and I was so impressed with myself when I was finished. I feel like it adds a nice professional touch to the shirt.

20120803-170500.jpg

Overall I really like this pattern. It’s very easy and quick to come together. I did my muslin one night, cut out my real fabric one night, then did all my sewing except for hemming and thread carriers on a Saturday. I finished it up real quick another night. It is a bit large at the waist but there’s the sash to bring it in. I saw several other people that did this pattern that put elastic at the waist. I think I would do that on a more lightweight material, but with this sateen it gathers pretty well on its own.

I hope to make this again, but in a lightweight material and in the dress. It would be so pretty with a sheer over lining fabric. But be aware – just the shirt took 2 yards of fabric. The dresses call for 3 and 4 yards. So find a good fabric sale if you want to make this!

I give it a two thumbs up! Have you made this pattern? What are your thoughts? What do you think about the peplum trend nowadays?

9 thoughts on “A Successful Summer Shirt

  1. Pingback: Day 2 | A Stitch Off

    • I did not use the elastic, though I thought about it. I bet you could find a tutorial online with how to do it though. I think next time I use this pattern I will try out the elastic.

Leave a Reply

