A quick and easy dress

I bought fabric from Joann for a couple projects, and decided to get one done this week. It was a “learn to sew” pattern, Simplicity 2147, and really was so easy.

I should have done one of these easy patterns a looong time ago to learn more and feel accomplished when I made something. There was one odd thing about this pattern – and from what I’ve read, this happens with a lot of patterns – sizing. Pattern sizes are much different from the sizes of store-bought clothing (which aren’t uniform to begin with anyway). So normally I’m a 10 pattern size, with just a few alterations. As you can see on the pattern front, this is a very loose-fitting pattern, but the amount of wearing ease (the difference between the measurements of the dress and the measurements of your body) was HUGE. If I had made my normal 10, it would have swallowed me up. So I’m glad I had the forethought to look at the measurements for a finished garment in size 10, because I normally don’t have any forethought when starting a pattern. I ended up making a 6, and it fits me perfectly. It’s nice to finally be getting a handle on how to make patterns fit my body. It makes the finished product so much more satisfying.

And I was super happy with how this one turned out. It’s simple, no intricate detail or difficult technique involved, but it was fun to make and it’ll be a great summer dress in a nice bold color, with lots of room for accessories.

One thought on “A quick and easy dress

Leave a Reply

