Time for some summer dresses!

Since it’s April in Mississippi that means it’s hot. Although actually in the past week it’s been pretty chilly again. But anywho, rest assured it will get hot, so I still need to stock up on some summer dresses.

I used Simplicity pattern 2362, which was a great, easy pattern. I did view A, but at the length of view E. I like wide straps, cause who wants to fuss with keeping all your straps covered? This bodice does have princess seams (I did not purposefully do two dresses in a row with princess seams, but I think I’ve got them down now — I only had to unpick stitches once!)

20120424-180615.jpg

And it turned out super cute. Even the Hubs said so! I’ve never done a sweetheart neckline before, but it was easy and turned out great. The only thing is that the dress sizing was weird. I had to use a size 14 to fit the bodice, then a size 10 in the skirt so that it wasn’t huge. But it all worked out great. I think next time I’ll make the straps a bit shorter, as the bodice gaps some up top. But overall, I love it!

20120424-181225.jpg

It’s so perfect for summer, light and airy, with a well-fitting bodice but plenty of tummy room for picnics and barbecues. You can’t tell in the big picture, but the fabric is a light blue and white gingham — very summery…and maybe a little “Wizard of Oz.” I love the pockets – pockets make any dress awesome. And the bodice has this really pretty pleating.

20120424-181007.jpg

I’m very happy with the final dress! I’ll definitely keep this pattern handy to maybe make some more. It came together really quick

Now I’m off to frolic with Toto on the yellow brick road.

3 thoughts on “Time for some summer dresses!

  1. Pingback: Ah, nostalgia… | A Stitch Off

  2. Pingback: Day 4 | A Stitch Off

  3. I knew I recognized this pattern! I have it! Oh, and the MAJOR advantage of princess seams is how easy it is to adjust the bust on them. I even have pants, from Burda, that I just made with “princess seams” on the butt. Anyway, all this to suggest, about the gaping that it might be useful to take in the seam of the bodice at the neckline, to make it lie flatter. I have narrow shoulders and always have to do little adjustements such as these. (I’m also short, 5′ and have to shorten lengths.)

Leave a Reply

