Day 7: The End.

I made it through the week, guys. You know, I didn’t actually bother to count how many clothes I had before I started. I’m glad that worked out…

20120901-175742.jpg
My last outfit is a shirt from Simplicity 1884 in navy/white polka dot with navy/white gingham (original post here). I love this shirt. And there’s not much more I can say about it except that you should make one too. And that’s my week of self-made clothes.

You may be wondering, what was the point? Well, now that it’s over I realize that I truly undervalue my self-made items. Usually, when I go to my closet in the morning to get dressed, I automatically choose something that’s store-bought because I don’t see any flaws in it. On the other hand, I know each and every stitch that’s out of place on every self-made piece. Therefore, I only see my self-made items as attempts at a good garment, and not a good garment in and of itself.

But after this week, I have a whole new appreciation for what I’ve made. Never once did I feel like I was settling for ugly, schlumpy clothes because of my restricted closet. I felt pretty and confident in everything I wore, and received compliments on several items throughout the week. To feel that good in what you’re wearing and to know you made it yourself is a wonderful feeling. It really makes me want to sew more and wear more of what I make.

Thanks for sticking with me through the week! I hope it’s been helpful to see how awesome home sewing is, and, for you other sewists, I hope it drives you to make more and wear what you make more confidently.

6 thoughts on “Day 7: The End.

Leave a Reply

