A whole new world

No, not because I found a flying magic carpet.

Now that I’ve successfully made a jacket from a pattern, I feel like a whole new section of my wardrobe has opened up. I’ve always just thought I could make shirts and dresses. Coats seemed like too difficult of a project to attempt. But now that I’ve conquered one, I’m browsing through all the other coat patterns there are out there. I probably won’t make another coat this fall/winter since I already have a wardrobe plan and a store-bought heavy winter coat, but I will definitely start adding coat patterns to my collection for the future.

Here are a few I’ve added to my wish list so far:

20120922-111902.jpg

I’m in love with the trench coat with the curved collar. That one might have to be on my spring wardrobe list. And everybody needs a staple, well-fitted blazer.

How about you – Have any of you other sewists attempted a jacket or coat? Or have you made anything that you thought would be super difficult and turned out to be not so bad? I’d love to hear your stories. Feel free to leave a link to any pics as well!

2 thoughts on “A whole new world

  1. I haven’t made a jacket or coat for myself yet, but I do have a couple of patterns in my stash — that Butterick coat above, and Simplicity 2209 (one of the Lisette patterns with a dress and a jacket). I took the Whipstitch kids’ clothing e-course a few months ago, and the last project was a reversible hooded jacket, so I made a corduroy jacket for my niece. The process wasn’t too bad (except for battling with the sleeves a bit), but it’s for a kid, so there’s really not much shape to it. I did learn, however, that separating zippers are great! 🙂

    • Oh how fun! Sounds like you’ve got some good experience. I’ve never used a separating zipper. I bet they do come in pretty handy. And I like the Lisette pattern – I might have to add that one to my list! You’ll have to let me know how it goes if you make any of those patterns.

Leave a Reply

