Tiny projects for a big event

Man, it’s been over a month since I’ve posted! It’s almost been that long since I’ve sewn too. Ever just get into a lull? That was basically the month of October for me. I think it’s because I’ve made myself do muslins for each project. I finished the muslin for Simplicity 1877, but then just did not want to cut out anymore fabric. Hence the hiatus.

To break out of my lull, I made some baby items for my sister’s shower this past weekend. Baby projects are great – so adorable, and super quick.

I made a crossover pinafore (tutorial here) with a diaper cover (tutorial here).

Here’s the back

20121105-183646.jpg
And a close-up of the diaper cover

20121105-183855.jpg
This was my first time to attempt covered buttons, and I was amazed at how easy they were. I just got a kit from JoAnn, and had covered buttons done in about 2 seconds. Will definitely be putting these on more projects.

20121105-183946.jpg
I also ended up making a pacifier clip, flower headband and matching skirt (which I sadly forgot to take pictures of).

20121105-184051.jpg
(tutorial)

20121105-184520.jpg
(combined tutorials for headband and flower)

20121105-185655.jpg
And here’s the family that was at the shower. It was super fun to celebrate my soon-to-be-here new niece!

Next up: I have finally cut out the real fabric for Simplicity 1877, and will be sewing it every spare minute I have. Hope to have a finished dress to share soon!

One thought on “Tiny projects for a big event

  1. Pingback: A dress I love! | A Stitch Off

Leave a Reply

