A slump

It has been so long! I did do a little bit of sewing, but honestly it hasn’t been a lot. After the busy-ness of the holidays, and trying to just catch up with life, I haven’t had much time to sew.

I only made a couple things as gifts this year – two little make-up bags for a couple girlfriends. I made a modified version of this tutorial. Instead of cutting two pieces, I made the body from one continuous piece and made it deeper. So here’s how one of them turned out

20130124-110156.jpg
It was really fun to make these. Bags are great to play with colors – I never get to used bright colored zippers otherwise!

I did finally complete another item off my fall wardrobe list. I attempted the Sorbetto top again in a navy and cream zigzag pattern. This is nice (free!) pattern, very simple, but it’s pretty formless once I get it on. I ended up adding back darts and taking in the sides a bit. I like it for the most part. Adding back darts was a new task for me…it worked out ok, but it’s not perfect. Thankfully it’s just the back though.

20130124-111139.jpg

I’ll admit, the zigzag pattern is pretty busy, so the fold of fabric down the front doesn’t help much. But tucked in and with a cardigan it’ll calm it down a bit and still have some interest.

20130124-112247.jpg
Oh, and notice the new skirt? After my green skirt failure, I found what I had been attempting to make at a J. Crew outlet (for a steal, no less). So all was well again.

One thought on “A slump

  1. Pingback: A Fortunate Find | A Stitch Off

Leave a Reply

